22 countries committed to tripling nuclear capacity at COP28

Isbel Lázaro.

países se comprometieron a triplicar la capacidad nuclear en la COP28

Inspenet, December 13, 2023.

On December 2, during the UN Climate Change Conference in Dubai (COP28), 22 nations signed a commitment to triple nuclear capacity by 2050 , compared to a baseline year of 2020.

According to data from the International Atomic Energy Agency, global nuclear capacity was 375 GW in 2020. The US Department of Energy statement highlighted that the declaration to increase nuclear power threefold “recognizes the critical role of this type of energy in achieving net zero greenhouse gas emissions in the world by 2050 and in achieving the goal of limiting global warming to 1.5 degrees“.

Figure AI
robot blando de Toyota
modulo lunar Odysseus interrumpe su actividad
Renault nuevo auto electrico R5
Trinidad y Tobago
Figure AI raised more than $650 million to commercialize humanoids
Meet Punyo: Toyota’s new soft robot
Forced end! The Odysseus lunar module interrupts its activity
Renault presented its mythical new electric car R5
Trinidad and Tobago hires two companies to tackle oil spill
previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow

The countries that signed the agreement have committed to supporting the evolution and construction of nuclear reactors, “such as small modular reactors and other advanced reactors for power generation, as well as broader industrial applications for decarbonization, such as for the production of hydrogen or synthetic fuels“says the statement.

The countries involved would urge the World Bank and other development banking institutions to incorporate nuclear energy into their lending policies for the energy sector. Additionally, the declaration recognizes the importance of extending the life of existing reactors and commits to supporting “responsible nations” seeking to deploy new generation of civil nuclear power.

Which countries will triple their nuclear capacity?

Calling on other countries to join the agreement, participants stated that they will review progress on the commitment annually in the context of the COP28 meetings. The signatory countries are: USA, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Ghana, Hungary, Japan, Republic of Korea, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom.

Don’t miss any of our posts and follow us on social media!

Inspenet.com YouTube LinkedIn Facebook Instagram

Source: worldenergytrade.com

Share this news on your social networks

Rate this post
1 star2 stars3 stars4 stars5 stars (No rating yet)